My Friend Alexa – Blogged..!!!

In September, reading blogs was based on analysis than content – thanks to Blogchatter’s campaign – My Friend Alexa! It was like staring at numbers.

It’s a good campaign. Increases visibility of a blog and author. Every blog climaxes with same words like:
“I’m taking my Alexa rank to next level with My Friend Alexa. My Alexa rank is: Global – 885,233. Rank in India– 85,233” 

If you have an analysis, why read the blog?!  Read the title and jump to the climax – The Alexa rank. If  it has dropped, then continue reading. If not, then switch to next blog…!!!

Online Marketing gone wrong hits!

A blogger tweets about unchanged Alexa rank despite writing ‘n’ number of blogposts, sharing, linking and what not. I would like to tell this blogger that Quality matters over Quantity. Rank and age are numbers!

As a storyteller, you would be in a limbo, facing a wall if you emphasize on quantity. Quantity is numbers. What do you want to do as an author? Analyse OR Develop content?

Tina Basu

(This blog is written on a lighter vein on My Friend Alexa campaign as promoted by BlogChatter. It is a part of #FridayFotoFiction which is separate campaign)

Last 30 words are edited on Nov 20 as I am no longer a part of #FridayFotoFiction campaign. The meaning remains the same. 

21 Comments

      1. You’re doing good. Keep that content coming. For me, I’ve got over and done with the number game. I’m like a zero floating above doing nothing. Don’t need more success or failures now. Just live a great life!!!

        Liked by 1 person

  1. Woah! That’s a completely different take on everything involved. But I guess numbers are very important for the beginners/newbies. if the numbers are decreasing means their work is being read and liked, which is a great encouragement for them to keep moving, cuz moving on is equally important. I would reach where you are today, maybe after a couple of years, when words the only thing for me. But, right now! It’s both- numbers and words. I want my words to score numbers. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  2. A tussle between the writer’s spirit and a contestants aspirations… so difficult to choose!
    Given a choice, i would choose to be a writer. It may take long but the journey would be worth enjoying!
    A realistic take on the prompt!
    – Anagha From Team MocktailMommies

    Like

    Reply

    1. Thanks for the honest feedback! Surely there isn’t a shortcut to success. Any established author would tell you that. There’s competition. But you what Anagha, just focus on those words and one day you won’t realize you are lonely. There will be no rankings, no competition, all that would remain is you and words. That’s being a ‘Z0+’ or in layman’s term ‘Zoplus’.
      Wish you the best!!!

      Like

      Reply

    1. Thanks! Love writing for #FridayFotoFiction. Most prompts are real good. Absolutely, ranks are important. There’s a phase, however, when you become a floating zero. Ranks, genres even some words don’t matter.
      Keep the prompts coming!!!

      Like

      Reply

  3. I missed this! My bad. Metrics are good but they can’t be enough motivation for me. I mean, who likes to write what people like to read and not what one loves to write everytime? I’m so glad you spoke out about it. After the Alexa month ended I would now like to see how this sharing thing pans out.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

    1. Haha!! I’ll share your posts. Because some are imdeed interesting.
      I’m a freebird dear. Enough of number game. Let the words flow. Wanna innovate in blogging. Write unblogged emotions.

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

